Welfare Application Instructions for North Dakota

Application Instructions

Before applying for TANF benefits in North Dakota, it is recommended that candidates review the application guidebook. To print an application, click here or complete an application online. To find a local county DHS office, click here or call (800) 755-2716 or (701) 328-3480 (TTY).

Available Benefits

TANF benefits are figured based on individual state guidelines and dependent on factors such as family size, earned and unearned income, and housing expenses. The state of North Dakota has a 60 month (5 year) cap on TANF benefits. The average TANF benefit in July 2009 was $313 per month.

Am I Eligible?

In North Dakota, TANF applicants must meet both the state and federal guidelines for the program. The federal government requires that individuals meet the monetary and non-monetary state guidelines, complete work-related activities, provide paternity information about the children in the household, and report as required by the state. The federal guidelines have been built into each state.s program, as this is required in order for states to receive the block grants that fund TANF. Therefore, it is really only necessary that applicants be aware of and meet the requirements as outlined by the state of North Dakota. To read more about the federal TANF eligibility guidelines, click here. In order to qualify for welfare in North Dakota, applicants must participate in the Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS) program in addition to complying with other program requirements and eligibility standards. To learn more about the JOBS program, click here.

General TANF information for North Dakota

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) is a federally funded program that helps American families by providing benefits, both financial and otherwise, to help keep family units intact. TANF benefits, sometimes referred to as welfare benefits, are intended to supplement a family.s earned and unearned income and can be used to purchase clothing, food, medication, and pay for housing and utility costs, for example. On the federal level, the Office of Family Assistance, which is a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, oversees and funds the TANF program. State governments are responsible for designing and implementing their own welfare programs, including the determining eligibility, providing benefits, and distributing cash allotments. This page outlines the state requirements for TANF benefits. To learn more about the Federal TANF program and its requirements, click here. The state of North Dakota administers Federal TANF benefits through the North Dakota Department of Human Services. To learn more about TANF in North Carolina, click here.